Square Butte Electric Cooperative

Square Butte Electric Cooperative owns Unit 2 at the Milton R. Young Station, a 455-megawatt, coal-based power plant located near Center, N.D. Minnkota, acting as agent for Square Butte, operates and maintains the plant and associated equipment.

Formed in 1972, Square Butte is owned by the same 11 cooperatives that own Minnkota. The cooperative sells electricity to Minnkota and Minnesota Power, an investor-owned utility based in Duluth, Minn. The Square Butte board consists of one representative from each of the Minnkota member cooperative boards.


Click here to view the Square Butte Electric Cooperative 2016 Annual Report.

square butte board of directors

Mark Habedank


Wild Rice Electric Cooperative based in Mahnomen, MN

Paul Sigurdson

Vice President

Nodak Electric Cooperative based in Grand Forks, ND

Roger Amundson


Roseau Electric Cooperative

based in Roseau, MN

Marcy Svenningsen

Asst. Secretary-Treasurer

Cass County Electric Cooperative based in Fargo, ND

Murl Nord


Beltrami Electric Cooperative

based in Bemidji, MN

Anthony Ottem


Cavalier Rural Electric Cooperative based in Langdon, ND

Gary Mathis


Clearwater-Polk Electric Cooperative based in Bagley, MN

Michael Hanson


North Star Electric Cooperative

based in Baudette, MN

Gordon Bernstrom


PKM Electric Cooperative

based in Warren, MN

Steve Linder


Red Lake Electric Cooperative

based in Red Lake Falls, MN

Marvis Thompson


Red River Valley Cooperative Power Association based in Halstad, MN

Mac Mclennan

General Manager

Grand Forks, ND

© 2018 Minnkota Power Cooperative. All rights reserved.



Contact US

5301 32nd Avenue South

Grand Forks, ND 58201

(701) 795-4000


Minnkota Power Cooperative provides wholesale electric energy to 11 member-owner distribution cooperatives in eastern North Dakota and northwestern Minnesota.